執業範圍

滑跤、跌倒場所的責任

滑跤、跌倒場所的責任

跌倒是非常普通的意外,許多時候都會造成嚴重傷害,包括骨裂、韌帶撕裂、深度裂傷、以及頭部與脊椎受傷。一位有經驗的律師瞭解如何證明這些意外特例的責任要素,例如保持證據的重要性,其中包括現場、穿著的鞋子、以及研究其他的重要問題像現場燈光照明、設計與違規等。

當一個人從樓梯上摔下來、在有危險的行人道上或其他行人區滑跤、在一處滑的地面跌倒、或是在一處建築物其他各種狀況跌倒時,那可能是由於房地產業主、或業主雇用的人像合約商等的疏失。通常業主都會辯稱,這些意外都是摔倒或是跌跤者的錯失,指責是他們自己頭暈、或是沒有看清楚往那裡走、或是他們應該能夠避免「非常顯而易見」的狀況。

米素律師事務所,在這方面擁有豐富的經驗,並且知道如何能為受傷者爭取贏得賠償的最佳機會。本事務所曾處理過數百件跌倒的案件,從有缺陷的樓梯、建築欠佳的護欄、不良的照明、食物或液體留在地面、以及由樹根或其他問題造成行人道裂開等所引起的意外。本事務所也曾代表當事人由於其他無數情況受傷的案件,這些情況包括玻璃破裂、未使用安全玻璃、有缺陷的門、異物掉落在購物者身上─特別是在大賣場、從屋頂摔下等等。

其中有一件案子,本事務所是代表35歲的油漆工關先生(譯音─Mr. Kwan),他是在使用一根「長柄」滾筒油漆一棟建築物外牆時,碰觸到頭頂的電線,造成他的手臂與手部的電擊及灼傷。本事務所在重建意外現場及進行法律研究時發現,那條頭頂的電線距離建築物太近,不符合法律規定,才引起這項意外,最後獲得74萬5000元的和解賠償金。(關某控告某加州電工公司─Kwan v. Doe California Electrical Company)

在另一件案子,本事務所是代表一個家庭,他們是逛大賣場時,有一整個裝在墊板上的貨物從高處掉下來,把包括父母親及三名孩子的全家五口都壓傷。本事務所在受理本案後發現,這家大賣場疏忽未把裝在墊板上的貨物固定安全,結果獲得相當數額的賠償金。

最重要的是,你的律師為了替你爭取受傷與損害賠償時,必須願意為你告上法院。米素律師事務所就是這樣作的,在一件一名婦人在舊金山市的行人道電梯口,由於雨水使門口很滑而摔倒,首先這棟建築物的保險公司否認有責任而拒絕支付賠償金,但是在本事務所把本案交付法院仲裁後,一位仲裁官裁定當事人應獲得賠償金。(李氏控告康利公司─Lee v. Kam Lee Corporation)

請在發生意外後立即聯繫我們,進行一項免費諮詢,以便你的權利能夠獲得保障與追訴。

免費資詢,不獲賠償絶不收費
聯繫我們

Areas of Practice

Trip and Fall, Slip and Fall

Trip and Fall, Slip and Fall

Falls are all too common, many times resulting in severe injury, including fractured bones, torn ligaments, deep lacerations, and head and spinal injuries. An experienced attorney understands the requirements of proving liability in this particular type of case, as for example the critical need to preserve evidence, including the scene, shoes worn and to look at other critical issues such as lighting, design and code violations.

When a person tumbles down a flight of stairs, trips over a hazard on the sidewalk or other pedestrian area, falls on a slippery surface, or falls because of any number of conditions that exist on property, it can be due to the negligence of a property owner, or someone hired by the property owner, like a contractor. It is very common for the owner to claim that fault is completely with the person who fell for being clumsy, or for not looking out for where they were going, or that the person fell should have seen and avoided a condition that was "open and obvious".

Meisel & Krentsa has extensive case experience in this area, and knows what is needed to give the injured person the best chance to win their case. The firm has handled hundreds of fall cases, from defective staircases, poorly constructed or faulty handrails, inadequate lighting, food or liquid left on the ground, and cracks in the sidewalks due to tree roots or other activities. The firm has represented clients who have been injured on property due to myriad other conditions such as broken glass, the failure to use safety glass, defective doors, objects falling onto shoppers, particularly at big box stores, falls from a roof, and so on.

In one such case, the firm represented Mr. Kwan, a 35 year old painter who was injured when the "long-arm" paint roller he was using to paint the façade of a building contacted the overhead electrical wires, resulting in burns and electrocution to his arm and hand. Reconstruction of the accident by the law firm combined with legal research revealed the electrical overhead wires were closer to the building than allowed by law, causing the accident, and resulted in a settlement of $745,000.00. (Kwan v Doe California Electrical Company)

In another case, the firm represented a family that was shopping at a big box store when a pallet of product fell from up high onto the family, injuring all five family members: Father, Mother and three children. A substantial settlement was obtained for the family upon a showing that the store had failed to properly secure the pallet to the storage shelf on which the pallet was resting.

It is important that your attorney is willing to go to court if needed to obtain you compensation for your injuries and damages. Meisel & Krentsa did just that in a case where a woman slipped and fell on sidewalk elevator doors made slick by rain water in San Francisco. The case was taken to an arbitration after the property owners insurance company denied liability and refused to pay compensation, and this resulted in an arbitrators award in favor of our client. (Lee v Kam Kee Corporation)

Contact us for a free consultation promptly after an accident so that your rights can be protected and pursued.

Free consultation—no fee unless there is a financial recovery
Contact Us