成功案例紀錄

56歲男子在審訊開庭前數日獲得超過200萬元賠償

56歲男子在審訊開庭前數日獲得超過200萬元賠償

R先生是一位行人。他在合法地橫過三藩市一個繁忙的十字路口時,被一輛汽車撞到。案件經過艱辛的法律商討,在上庭前幾天,獲得205萬元的賠償金額。

在2014年5月20日早上八時,我們的當事人R先生, 56歲,是一位為傷殘及精神病患者服務的輔導員。他在兒時患上脊椎灰質炎(polio),因而影響他右腳的活動能力,並需要拐杖輔助步行。R先生和他的妻子當天早上離開他們在三藩市Hyde街的寓所,步行到Hyde街㚒Geary街的路口。R先生在路口前等待燈號及和他的妻子吻別。R太太便朝着另外一個方向步行。當面向R先生的交通燈轉綠,他便開始在行人線內橫過這十字路口。當他步行了大概八至十尺, R先生便被一輛由Jane Smith 駕駛的車輛撞倒。因為碰撞的衝力很大, R先生被拋離8至10尺後才着地。

一位由倫敦來到三藩市遊覽的遊客剛從R先生的相反方向橫過同一個十字路口,並看見事件的發生經過。

本律師樓代表R先生控告Smith。也因為Smith當時是在會見客人的途中,我們也同時控吿Smith的雇主。

這宗嚴重的交通意外令到R先生的右腿髁上股骨骨折,而且這骨折情況是伸展性的。右邊股骨是粉碎性骨折,膝蓋分裂成兩部份,視為矢狀分裂。除此之外,膝蓋髕骨也骨折,而關節表面更呈現嚴重粉碎至軟骨組織。

R先生接受了緊急治療及手術。因為他先天的脊椎灰質炎,他的右滕不能接受康復治療,因而影響到周圍的肌肉組織收縮及影響到右膝的活動能力。因為這個不幸意外造成的傷害,R先生右膝的活動弧度只剩下30到50度,令他日後根本無法彎曲這條腿。

R的先生的案件經過律師艱辛的努力,最終在審訊開庭前數天,以205萬元的賠償金額解決。

*為了保護客人的私隱,以上用的名字是假設名稱

免費資詢,不獲賠償絶不收費
聯繫我們

Record of Success

56-Year-Old Man Receives $2 Million Settlement Days Before Trial

56-Year-Old Man Receives $2 Million Settlement Days Before Trial

Around 8 a.m. on May 20, 2014, plaintiff George Roe*, 56, an educator for the disabled and mentally challenged, and who was a victim of childhood polio that affected his right leg and required him to walk with a cane, left his apartment on Hyde Street, in San Francisco. Mr. Roe walked with his wife, plaintiff Mrs. Roe, towards the intersection of Hyde and Geary Street. Mr. Roe reached the intersection and waited on the corner for the signal light to change. Before reaching the curb, Mr. Roe's wife kissed him goodbye and began to walk in a different direction. Once Mr. Roe's light turned green, he started into the intersection within a marked pedestrian crosswalk. When Mr. Roe was approximately 8 to 10 feet into the intersection, he was struck by a vehicle operated by Jane Smith. The force of the collision lifted Mr. Roe off of his feet and threw him approximately 8 to 10 feet. His body landed in the roadway.

A witness visiting San Francisco from London was crossing the street in the opposite direction of Mr. Roe and witnessed the incident.

Mr. Roe sued Smith, as well as the company Smith was employed by on the day of the accident because Smith was on her way to a client meeting at the time of the incident.

As a result of the horrific crash, Mr. Roe sustained a right supracondylar femur fracture with intercondylar extension. The right supracondylar femur fracture was comminuted (pieces) involving the articular surface in the knee joint in two primary places with a sagittal split. Additionally, there was a comminuted patellar (knee cap) fracture with a severe comminution of the articular surface involving a strain of the articulating cartilage surface.

Mr. Roe required extensive emergent medical treatment, which included surgery.  Due to his pre-existing polio, Mr. Roe was unable to appropriately rehab the right knee, causing Mr. Roe’s surrounding tissues to contract and effectively freeze his right knee joint. Mr. Roe was left with range of motion in his right knee that is limited to a 30 to 55 degree arc, resulting in a complete inability for Mr. Roe to bend his leg.

Mr. Roe’s case settled days before trial was scheduled to begin for $2.05 Million. 

 

*Names of the parties have been changed.

Free consultation—no fee unless there is a financial recovery
Contact Us