成功案例紀錄

76歲行人獲得137萬5000元的和解賠償金

76歲行人獲得137萬5000元的和解賠償金

(在舊金山高等法院張某控告內部解決公司案─Cheung v. Corporate Interior Solutions, San Francisco Superior Court case number 404347)

我們的76歲當事人是在早上散步時,在行人穿越道被一輛沒有注意到他的右轉汽車所撞上。這名老人因並無生命危險的受傷住院,由於康復良好,僅數天就出院回家由妻子照顧他。但在回家第二天早上,她妻子發現丈夫從公寓內失蹤了。經過一陣尋找後,發現當事人半昏迷在鄰居公寓的屋頂上,而他應該是從自己的公寓屋頂摔落大約20呎到鄰居屋頂的。他顯然是在自己屋頂遊蕩時,不能辨識方向而摔落的。他當時摔斷了數根骨骼及頭部受傷,但最後都逐漸康復。

這名老人被汽車撞上的駕駛人曾承認錯誤,但是保險公司聲稱,他們對於出院後從屋頂摔下的意外,並無責任。事實上,老人從屋頂摔下的受傷遠較車禍為嚴重,保險公司說,那是老人年齡太大的結果,與車禍無關。

我們在受理本案後所關切的是,老人從屋頂摔下後所需要的長期醫療照顧與復健,而那次屋頂摔落的意外,顯然是車禍造成的後遺症。我們在聘請專家的作證與調查後,提出證據顯示,老人出現不辨方向症狀及從屋頂摔下造成二次受傷,是由於第一次受傷住院時服用處方藥物的副作用所造成,因此,第一次車禍的駕駛人除了應為車禍受傷負責外,也應為第二次從屋頂摔落負責。結果我們為當事人成功地獲得1375萬元的和解賠償金,足夠這位老人的醫療照顧、改變他的生活方式、以及補償他所遭受痛苦與創傷的損害。

免費資詢,不獲賠償絶不收費
聯繫我們

Record of Success

76 year old pedestrian receives 1.375 million dollar settlement

76 year old pedestrian receives 1.375 million dollar settlement

(Cheung v Corporate Interior Solutions San Francisco Superior Court case number 404347)

Our client, age 76, was in a pedestrian crosswalk in San Francisco taking his morning walk when he was struck by a motor vehicle operator turning right on a red light who failed to observe him in the crosswalk. Hospitalized with non-life threatening injuries, he recovered well, and was released home after only a few days, where his wife could help care for him. The next morning, she awoke to find her husband missing from the apartment. A frantic search took place and our client was found, semi-conscious, on the roof of an adjacent apartment building where he had fallen some 20 feet from his own roof. He had apparently wandered up to the roof, disoriented, and fallen, breaking several bones, and suffering a head injury from which he ultimately made a reasonable recovery.

While the driver of the motor vehicle admitted that the initial accident was his fault, he and his insurance company claimed to have no responsibility for the fall from the roof and the more serious injuries that resulted from that fall, claiming the fall was due to an age-related infirmity.

Our primary concern was for the extensive medical care and rehabilitation our client was going to need as a result of the injuries suffered in the fall. Through expert and lay testimony and investigation, we showed that the disorientation and roof fall resulted from side effects of medication he was prescribed for the initial injuries suffered after the car accident, and thus the driver of the car must be held legally responsible for the injuries suffered in the fall from the roof as well the injuries from the car accident. We prevailed, and our client received a 1.375 million dollar settlement, enough to take care of all his medical needs, modifications to his living arrangements, and damages for pain and suffering.

Free consultation—no fee unless there is a financial recovery
Contact Us