成功案例紀錄

陪審員裁決受害人獲得$938,000賠償

陪審員裁決受害人獲得$938,000賠償

陪審員裁決受害人獲得$938,000賠償

本律師樓的柏奈奇絲律師代表53歲的江女士。在2014年9月12日,江女士在一個沒有標記的行人道橫過馬路,在差不多到十字路口中間的時候,被汽車撞到及嚴重受傷。

江女士在1985年,她25歲的時候,從中國移民到美國。她曾在製衣廠工作,賺取最低薪金,並在三藩市市立大學進修英文。他就1986年和她的丈夫結婚。因為照顧家庭而離開了職場。有了三個小孩之後,剛女士決定在2001年重新投入工作,但仍只能賺取最低薪金。

因為這場車禍,江女士的受傷情況包括足踝雙重骨折、腓骨骨折及創傷性腦損害。她被救護車送往三藩市總醫院的嚴重創傷性部門治療。由於骨折的情況嚴重,包括骨折可能刺傷身體,醫生需要馬上進行開刀手術,並需要把內置金屬放進受傷部位。他在三藩市總醫院留院一晚之後,被轉往Kaiser醫院,之後轉送Saint Francis療養院。他在一星期後出院,並在家接受超過一年的康復治療。意外的九個月後,剛女士也曾接受第二次手術除去腳上的金屬支架。意外發生後的15個月, 她仍然行動困難。雖然她之後的康復程度理想,但足踝的活動能力已受到永久性創傷。

在家中的康復過程中,江女仕的家人發現她的性情和認知能力改變。因為文化背景影響,江女士不願意正視這些症狀。在2017年錄口供的程序中,柏奈奇絲律師終於說服江女士尋求神經精神科的檢查。檢查的結果證明她因為腦部損傷而患上永久性的認知後遺症。

辯方律師聲稱江女士並沒有永久性認知能力障礙。他們只聘請了神經精神科醫生作檢查,但並沒有作出神經精神科評估。辯方律師也對江女士的足踝及腳受傷情況作出爭議。

江女士的總醫療費是$108,864及需要$13,631作為將來需要的醫療費。辯方在案件上庭之前作出$320,000的賠償。在相討的過程中,賠償並沒有增加。上庭前的六天,辯方聲稱如果江女士願意作出低於七位數字的賠償要求,他們會把賠償數目提高。江女士答應了他們的要求。但在上庭前五天,辯方聲稱賠償數目維持不變。

江女士在陪審團的裁判中得到$918,257的賠償,當中包括$202,008的經濟損失和$716,250的其他方面賠償。她更獲得賠償$20,000的費用。江女士在此案件中總共獲得陪審員裁判的$940,000賠償。
 

免費資詢,不獲賠償絶不收費
聯繫我們

Record of Success

$938,000 Jury Verdict for Pedestrian Hit in Unmarked Crosswalk

$938,000 Jury Verdict for Pedestrian Hit in Unmarked Crosswalk

Monica J. Burneikis represented Bilan Kong, a 53-year-old woman who was struck by a motor vehicle on September 12, 2014, at approximately 8:00 p.m.  Mrs. Kong was in an unmarked pedestrian crosswalk and nearly half-way through the intersection when the crash occurred. 

Mrs. Kong immigrated to the United States from China in 1985 when she was 25-years-old.  She worked for minimum wage as a seamstress in a garment factory and took English classes at San Francisco City College.  She married her husband in 1986, at which point she left her job in order to care for her family.  After having three children, Mrs. Kong re-entered the work force in 2001, working as an in-home care provider for the elderly and making minimum wage.        

As a result of the collision, Mrs. Kong sustained a bimalleolar ankle fracture, a fibula fracture, and a mild Traumatic Brain Injury.  She was taken by ambulance to San Francisco General Hospital where she was admitted to the Trauma Unit.  The severity of the fractures to her ankle and leg required emergent surgery due to the risk the fracture would puncture through her skin.  Mrs. Kong underwent an open reduction internal fixation surgery with the placement of hardware.  She remained in-patient at San Francisco General Hospital overnight, after which she was transferred to Kaiser, and then to Saint Francis Heights Convalescent Facility.  She was discharged home a week later.  Mrs. Kong rehabilitated at home for more than a year.  Nine months after the incident, Mrs. Kong underwent a second surgery to remove the hardware in her leg.  At 15-months post-incident, Mrs. Kong remained functionally disabled.  While she ultimately recovered well, she sustained permanent loss of range of motion in her ankle, primarily with respect to dorsiflexion.    

As Mrs. Kong convalesced at home, her family began to notice changes in her personality and cognitive function.  Due to cultural stigma associated with brain injury, Mrs. Kong denied and dismissed the symptoms for years.  After Mrs. Kong was deposed in early 2017, Ms. Burneikis was finally able to convince Mrs. Kong of the need for her to undergo neuropsychological testing.  The evaluation revealed Mrs. Kong had sustained clinically significant permanent cognitive sequalae as a result of her head injury. 

The defense vehemently denied Mrs. Kong had sustained permanent injury to her cognitive function, so much so that the defense retained a neuropsychologist, but opted to forgo conducting their own neuropsychological evaluation.  The defense also contested the extent and severity of Mrs. Kong’s ankle and leg injuries. 

Mrs. Kong incurred $108,864 in past medical expenses and required $13,631 in future medical care.  The defense had offered $320,000 to settle Mrs. Kong’s claims before the case was filed.  The settlement offer never increased during litigation.  Six days before trial, the defense indicated the settlement offer would increase provided Mrs. Kong agreed to reduce her demand to below 7 figures, which Mrs. Kong agreed to do.  Five days before trial, in direct contradiction to the representation, the defense informed Mrs. Kong no further settlement offers would be made. 

The jury returned a verdict for Mrs. Kong of $918,257, comprised of $202,008 in economic damages, and $716,250 in non-economic damages.  Mrs. Kong also recovered $20,000 in costs, bringing her actual verdict to just under $940,000.

Free consultation—no fee unless there is a financial recovery
Contact Us