成功案例紀錄

翻車意外死亡46歲婦人家屬獲得157萬元賠償金

翻車意外死亡46歲婦人家屬獲得157萬元賠償金

(在阿拉米達縣高等法院黎氏控告灣輪胎商店案─Le v. Bay Area Tire Store, Alameda County Superior Court case number H19063960)

這一天,我們的46歲已婚婦人與一名八歲女兒母親的當事人,早上在與家人吻別駕車去上班。她預期,她車上的安全帶系統應該會保障她在發生車禍時的安全,因為她車上的安全帶系統是最新與最佳的型式─那就是在她發動引擎時,安全帶會自動扣上的。但悲劇性地,她的想法錯了,當另一輛汽車的一個輪胎與鋼圈脫離及翻覆時,撞上她汽車的擋風玻璃,而破裂的擋風玻璃就成為使她受傷死亡的致命武器。

我們為本案提出訴訟,控告汽車製造公司、輪胎鋼圈脫離汽車的車主與有關的修車廠,因為那輛汽車發生意外撞上我們當事人的汽車在造成死亡意外。但是結果所有相關連的各方都拒絕承認責任。那輛肇事汽車的車主說,輪胎脫離鋼圈是修車廠的責任,而修車廠則辯稱,那是車主自己更換過輪胎的錯失。我們當事人汽車的製造商則聲稱,安全帶系統並無不妥,因為安全帶並非造成這項車禍死亡的原因。

在受理本案後,本事務所就發現了重大的證據,那就是汽車製造商知道,這項汽車安全帶系統是危險的,因為使用者經常會忘記扣上腿上的手動安全帶,誤以為自動安全帶會提供他們所需的保障。另外,我們在經過仔細的調查與法律研究後也發現修車廠曾竄改了重要的修理紀錄,試圖顯示,那輛汽車的車主而不是修車廠,最後曾動過這輛車發生問題的那個輪胎與鋼圈。

這些努力使我們與有關公司達成總額157萬元的和解協議,給予我們的當事人他們所需的財務安全,使他們覺得本案可以結案,因為他們親人的傷害死亡已經獲得補償,以及該負起責任的公司已經負責。

免費資詢,不獲賠償絶不收費
聯繫我們

Record of Success

Family of 46 year old woman killed in roll-over accident receives 1.57 million dollars

Family of 46 year old woman killed in roll-over accident receives 1.57 million dollars

(Le v Bay Area Tire Store, et. al. Alameda County Superior Court case number H 19063960)

The day began like so many others: a family breakfast followed by a hug and a kiss goodbye, after which our client, a 46 year old Wife and Mother of an 8 year old daughter set off in her car for work. She expected that the seat belt system in her car would keep her safe in an accident, and she thought the car had the newest and best type of seat belt – one where the shoulder belt automatically secured itself once you turned the car on. Tragically, she was wrong and when her vehicle rolled over after a wheel and tire separated from another vehicle, rolled down the freeway and crashed into her windshield, the edge of the shoulder became like a weapon, and caused her fatal injuries.

We filed suit against the car company and the party’s responsible for allowing a tire to separate from the owner’s vehicle, rolling down the freeway until it crashed violently and unexpectedly into our client’s windshield. Everyone denied responsibility – the vehicle owner said a repair shop caused the tire to come off, the repair shop said the owner changed the tires himself and it was his fault, and the car maker said the seat belt system was just fine, and that in any event the seat belt did not cause the fatal injuries.

During the case, our law firm developed substantial evidence showing that car makers knew this was a dangerous seat belt system since users often did not fasten the manual lap belt, thinking the automatic shoulder belt provided all the protection they needed. Further, through extensive and careful investigation and litigation, we found that the repair shop altered critical case records to try and show that the car owner, and not the repair shop had last affixed the wheel and tire to the vehicle.

Our efforts resulted in a 1.57 million dollar settlement and gave our clients the financial security they needed, and allowed them to feel there was closure in the case, with the wrongful death had been vindicated, and the responsible companies held to account.

Free consultation—no fee unless there is a financial recovery
Contact Us