成功案例紀錄

米素法律事務所代表受傷行人案件獲得375萬元和解賠償金

米素法律事務所代表受傷行人案件獲得375萬元和解賠償金

一名 7歲男孩在他哥哥與母親目擊下被巴士車撞傷後,在和解議中總共獲得 573萬元的賠償金,其中包括根據男孩未來壽命計算的 146萬9000元的結構性賠償金在內。這項被稱為「某甲控告某舊金山小型巴士公司」(Doe 1 vs. San Francisco Paratransit Company)的案件和解協議規定,訴訟有關各方的名字必須保密。

這名男孩是在加州舊金山市的威廉街與第三街(William and  Third Street)交叉口處穿越馬路時,被一輛小型巴士車撞上及輾過。小巴士的司機與其保險公司聲稱,這名男孩在穿越馬路時,他媽媽未能盡責照顧他,也未牽住他的手,任其自行穿越馬路,而且男孩在跑到巴士車前面時,還是在行人穿越道的外面。

米素律師事務所在處理本案時,為了釐清車禍發生時各項因素,曾聘請了多位有關的專家,其中包括模擬這名男孩在小巴士停在紅燈的十字路口時,如何被迫滑出人行穿越道的白線外。當時這名小巴士司機是在紅燈時,準備要右轉前,他曾先看了一下左側,但是在開始作右轉時,卻並未再回頭看左後方,結果就撞上了在人行道上的男孩,並且還輾了過去。這項意外發生時,男孩的母親與哥哥就數呎外親眼目睹,並使他們驚恐不已。

這名男孩當時受到嚴重的內傷,其中包括一個腎臟裂傷及造成這個腎臟的功能喪失、頭部內傷及一隻手臂骨折。對於這名男孩只剩下一個有功能的腎臟問題,曾引發爭議,因為小型巴士公司聲稱,只有一個腎臟對於正常生活影響甚微。巴士公司又稱,對男孩的腦部是否確實受傷存疑,而且即使真的受傷,也應可完全康復。本法律事務所則強調,一個人喪失一個腎臟是一項十分重大的損失,而且即使是輕微的腦部受傷,也會有後遺症。本事務所為了證明上述說法,曾提出這名男孩在車禍後的學校成績單,老師的評語顯示,孩子的成績已經大不如前。

本案在舊金山法院訂定審訊日期前的調解庭中,雙方達成和解協議。

米素律師事務所代表嚴重受傷者已有超過 30年的經驗。本事務所曾代表受傷的行人、自行車騎士與汽車駕駛人以及嚴重受傷的乘客,包括創傷性腦部受傷、脊椎受傷,其中包括癱瘓、肢體喪失、器官喪失與骨折,我們均可成功地代為獲得和解賠償金及法院勝訴判決。

請即聯絡米素律師事務所

免費資詢,不獲賠償絶不收費
聯繫我們

Record of Success

Law Firm Settles Pedestrian Injury Case for 3.57 Million Dollars

Law Firm Settles Pedestrian Injury Case for 3.57 Million Dollars

A 7 year old boy and his older brother and mother who witnessed the accident were awarded a settlement of 3.57 million dollars including a structured settlement with payments to the child to total 1.469 million dollars to his life expectancy (Roe 1 vs  Doe San Francisco Paratransit Company). The case settlement requires that the names of the parties be kept confidential.

The child was crossing the street at the intersection of Williams and Third Street in San Francisco, California when he was struck and then run over by a paratransit bus. The bus driver and his insurers claimed that the boy was not properly supervised by his mother, who permitted him to cross the street independently from her, while she was not holding his hand, and that the boy ran out in front of the bus outside the crosswalk.

In the process of handling the case, Meisel & Krentsa retained multiple experts in connection with the factors that caused the accident, including an animation showing that the child skipped out in a marked pedestrian crosswalk while the bus was stopped at a red light. The bus driver was looking to his left to prepare to make a right turn on a red traffic signal and failed to look back to his left before initiating the turn, striking the child in the crosswalk, and then running the child over. All this took place while the child’s mother and older brother were several feet away, much to their horror.

The child sustained severe internal injuries including a lacerated kidney that resulted in loss of function of one kidney, a closed head injury, and a fractured arm. There was a dispute as to the implications of living with a single functioning kidney, the paratransit bus company claiming minimal disruption to a normal life. The bus company also claimed there was either no brain injury, or if there was one, there was a complete recovery. The law firm claimed the loss of a kidney was a significant loss and a residual mild traumatic brain injury. Student report cards were utilized to show a contrast in teacher comments post-accident including concerns that the child was no longer reaching his potential to support the claim.

The case was settled shortly before trial through a mediation in San Francisco.

Meisel & Krentsa has been representing seriously injured persons for more than 30 years. The firm has represented injured pedestrians, bicyclists and motor vehicle drivers and passengers in serious injury cases including traumatic brain injury, spinal injuries including paralysis, loss of limbs, loss of organs, and fractured bones, achieving a long record of successful settlements and verdicts. Contact Meisel & Krentsa.

Free consultation—no fee unless there is a financial recovery
Contact Us